Regional Councils

Texas is divided into 24 regions, each served by a voluntary organization of local governmental entities that coordinate programs and services to address needs that cross jurisdictional boundaries.

Below is a full list of other regional councils of government in the State of Texas.

Alamo Area Council of Governments

8700 Tesoro Drive, Suite 700
San Antonio, TX 78217-6228

(210) 362-5200

Counties served: Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, McMullen, Medina, Wilson

Ark-Tex Council of Governments

4808 Elizabeth Street
Texarkana, TX 75503

(903) 832-8636

Counties served: Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River, Titus

Brazos Valley Council of Governments

PO Drawer 4128
Bryan, TX 77805-4128

(979) 595-2800

Counties served: Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson, Washington

Capital Area Council of Governments

6800 Burleson Road, Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

(512) 916-6000

Counties served: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, Williamson

Central Texas Council of Governments

2180 North Main Street
Belton, TX 76513

(254) 770-2200

Counties served: Bell, Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, Milam, Mills, San Saba

Concho Valley Council of Governments

2801 W. Loop 306, Suite A
San Angelo, TX 76904

(325) 944-9666

Counties served: Coke, Concho, Crockett, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Reagan, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, Tom Green

Deep East Texas Council of Governments

210 Premier Dr.
Jasper, TX 75951

(409) 384-5704

Counties served: Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler

East Texas Council of Governments

3800 Stone Drive
Kilgore, TX 75662

(903) 218-6400

Counties served: Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, Van Zandt, Wood

Golden Crescent Regional Planning Commission

120 S. Main St., Suite 210
Victoria, TX 77901

(361) 578-1587

Counties served: Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Victoria

Heart of Texas Council of Governments

1514 S. New Road
Waco, TX 76711

(254) 292-1800

Counties served: Bosque, Falls, Freestone, Hill, Limestone, McLennan

Houston-Galveston Area Council

PO Box 22777
Houston, TX 77227-2777

(713) 627-3200

Counties served: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, Wharton

Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council

301 W. Railroad
Welasco, TX 78596

(956) 682-3481

Counties served: Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy

Middle Rio Grande Development Council

307 W. Nopal
Carrizo Springs, TX 78834

(830) 876-3533

Counties served: Dimmit, Edwards, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Zavala

Nortex Regional Planning Commission

PO Box 5144
Wichita Falls, TX 76302

(940) 322-5281

Counties served: Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cottle, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Wichita, Wilbarger, Young

North Central Texas Council of Governments

616 Six Flags Drive, PO Box 5888
Arlington, TX 76005-5888

(817) 640-3300

Counties served: Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, Wise

Panhandle Regional Planning Commission

415 Southwest Eighth Avenue
Amarillo, TX 79105


Counties served: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Wheeler

Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission

PO Box 60660
Midland, TX 79711-0660

(956) 682-3481

Counties served: Andrews, Borden, Crane, Dawson, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Howard, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, Winkler

Rio Grande Council of Governments

8037 Lockheed Drive, Suite 100
El Paso, TX 79925

(915) 533-0998

Counties served: Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Presidio

South East Texas Regional Planning Commission

2210 Eastex Freeway
Beaumont, TX 77703

(409) 899-8444

Counties served: Hardin, Jefferson, Orange

South Plains Association of Governments

1323 58th Street
Lubbock, TX 79412

(806) 762-8721

Counties served: Bailey, Cochran, Crosby, Dickens, Floyd, Garza, Hale, Hockley, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Motley, Terry, Yoakum

South Texas Development Council

1002 Dicky Lane
Laredo, TX 78044-2187

(956) 722-3995

Counties served: Jim Hogg, Starr, Webb, Zapata

West Central Texas Council of Governments

3702 Loop 322
Abilene, TX 79602

(325) 672-8544

Counties served: Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Kent, Knox, Mitchell, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, Throckmorton

Did you find any incorrect information on this page?

Please contact us if we need to update anything and we will get it done immediately. Thank you for assisting us in ensuring the contact information on this page is accurate.