General Overview

In 1966 the Texas Legislature passed legislation that was later codified as Chapter 391 of the Local Government Code. This legislation formed the legal basis for the creation of political subdivisions of the State of Texas to be known as Regional Planning Commissions or Councils of Government. These voluntary associations of local governmental entities were established to act as a conduit for the economical and efficient delivery of a wide range of social service programs to low income residents of Texas and to allow local governmental entities to address common issues and concerns on a regional basis.

Texoma Regional Planning Commission (name changed to Texoma Council of Governments in 1992) was established January 23, 1968 and serves the member governments and citizens of Cooke, Fannin, and Grayson counties.

Membership is open to counties; incorporated cities, towns, and villages; independent school districts; consolidated school districts; community colleges districts; and any other political subdivision of the State which is geographically situated in the Texoma Region who petitions for and is granted membership.


Year Established



In Square Miles


* US Census Bureau 2010 Population Totals

The TCOG Governing Board Consists of Fifteen (15) Representatives as Follows:

County Judges

The three county judges (or designees) of Cooke, Fannin, and Grayson Counties

City Mayors

The mayor (or designee) from the City of Bonham, City of Denison, City of Gainesville, and City of Sherman.

Additionally, the mayor (or designee) of each general law city (1 from each county) rotated every two years in alphabetical order.

Community Representatives

An appointed representative from each county appointed by the respective Commissioner's Court.

Schools and Community Colleges

One (1) representative from ISDs with enrollment of more than 1,000 students, and one (1) representative from community college districts. These seats rotate every two years in alphabetical order.

The TCOG Governing Board meets the third Thursday of every month and meetings are open to the public.